

JOINT DECLARATION OF THE

INFORMAL MEETING OF THE D-8 TRADE MINISTERS COUNCIL

ISTANBUL, REPUBLIC OF TÜRKİYE

11 JUNE 2024

We, the Ministers/Heads of Delegations of the People's Republic of Bangladesh, the Arab Republic of Egypt, the Republic of Indonesia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Malaysia, the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, and the Republic of Türkiye met in İstanbul on 11 June 2024 on the sidelines of 3rd Ministerial Meeting of TPS-OIC Trade Negotiating Committee, for the Informal Meeting of D-8 Trade Ministers Council;

Reaffirming our commitments set out in the Summit Declarations held in Istanbul (1997), Dhaka (1999), Cairo (2001), Tehran (2004), Bali (2006), Kuala Lumpur (2008), Abuja (2010), Islamabad (2012), Istanbul (2017), Dhaka (2021) and to the Decennial Road Map (2008-2018) and (2020-2030);

Recalling the commitments made in the Declaration adopted at the 1st meeting of the D-8 Trade Ministers Council in Abuja (2013); Declaration adopted at the 2nd meeting of the Trade Ministers Council in Islamabad (2016) and Declaration adopted at the 3rd meeting of the Trade Ministers Council in Dhaka (2024);

Reaffirming the commitment reflected in the Dhaka Declaration adopted at the 10th Summit of the D-8 held on 21 April 2021 in Dhaka on operationalizing the Preferential Trade, the Visa and the Customs Agreement;

Also reaffirming the Joint Declaration adopted at the Extraordinary Meeting of the D-8 Council of Ministers on the Situation in Gaza, held in İstanbul, Republic of Türkiye on 8 June 2024;

do hereby,

- 1. **Condemn** in the strongest terms the brutal and inhuman Israeli aggression against the Palestinian people in the Gaza Strip as well as in the occupied West Bank including East Jerusalem;
- 2. **Demand** complete lifting the Israeli siege on Gaza, including through opening of all available land border crossings and allowing the entry of international humanitarian aid convoys, including food, medicine and fuel into the Gaza Strip without any hindrance
- 3. **Reiterate** our determination to strengthen the existing trade and economic cooperation among the member states to further increase the wellbeing of our peoples,
- 4. **Welcome** the implementation of the Preferential Trade Agreement Among D-8 Member States (D-8 PTA) by Bangladesh, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia and Türkiye, and **call upon** the other Contracting Members to commence implementation of the D-8 PTA at their earliest convenience;
- 5. Agree to double efforts to increase the intra-trade of D-8 Member States to at least 10 percent of the D-8 global trade, as reflected in the Decennial Roadmap 2020-2030;
- 6. **Reemphasize** the importance of having a study to explore the ways and means for the expansion of the PTA;
- 7. **Congratulate** the Government of Republic of Türkiye for successful hosting and Egypt for excellent chairing of the Informal Meeting of the D-8 Trade Ministers Council.