

Report of the Focal Points' Meeting

National focal points from member states of D-8 Organization for Economic Cooperation to the D-8 International University,

Having in mind that the D-8 International University is an international university affiliated to the D.8 Organization for Economic Cooperation consisting of Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey aiming at strengthening academic exchanges among member states and enforcing Para (7) of Article (10) of D-8 roadmap (2008-2018), which highlights the "promotion of cooperation on science and technology with the aim of institutionalising the subjects of cooperation through establishment of research centres of D-8 institute/university",

Considering that Istanbul Declaration 2017, on the occasion of the Ninth Summit of the Developing Eight Countries (D-8) in Istanbul on 20 October 2017 to mark the 20th anniversary of the D-8 under the theme "Expanding Opportunities through Cooperation"; expressly declared the establishment of the D-8 International University and invited the Islamic Republic of Iran to prepare modalities for working of the university,

Taking into account that the Working Modality of D-8 International University was adopted at the 40th Session of the D-8 Commission Meeting on 28-29 June 2018which was held in Istanbul, Turkey,

Considering that the Working Modality of D-8 International University was endorsed at the 18th Session of the Council of Ministers that took place on 3rd November, 2018 in Antalya, Turkey,



Believing that the establishment of this university would strengthen cooperation among member states through the university and student exchanges, in order for state parties to achieve an acceptable international share of these exchanges,

Affirming that this University promotes values such as learning, peaceful coexistence among religions, peace and prosperity, freedom and academic independence among D-8 member states,

Considering the schedule of D-8 International University as communicated by the D-8 Secretariat (Note Verbale No.PRJ.18/259) to all member states of the D-8 Organization for Economic Cooperation, the Meeting of the Focal Points of member states is held on 10 and 11 December 2018 in Hamedan, Islamic Republic of Iran,

Focal Points from member states of D-8 Organization on behalf of their own ministry of Higher Education and D-8 International University,

Have agreed as follows:

Article 1

Adoption of Working Modality of the D-8 International University

1. Following the adoption of the working modality of the D-8 International University by the Commission and the Council of Ministers of the D-8 Organization for Economic Cooperation, shall adopt the working modality in order to begin the activities of the university.



Article 2

Obligations of the Host Country Regarding Admission of Students

1. The Ministry of Science, Research and Technology, as the host ministry, shall be committed to pay the tuition of 25 students from the member states.

Article 3

Obligations of Member States Regarding Admission of Students

Each member state of the D-8 Organization shall be committed to pay the tuition of at least 5 of its select students.

Note: The select students shall be introduced by the focal points of each member state.

Article 4

General Functions of Focal Points

1. Each focal point shall be representative of its own state to accomplish the functions of the D-8 International University as stated in the above-mentioned articles.



2. The focal points shall be committed to introduce the D-8 International University, as the special university of the D-8 Organization, to all the universities of the member states and encourage students to study in this University.